PREPARING for a Soul Search

Starting last year I heard about ONE WORD – where you choose one word to guide your year versus a series of resolutions you never complete.  Last year my word was RENEW… I wanted to renew myself (didn’t do so well with that), renew going to church, relationships with friends and friends, etc…

It sounded easy but found that there were SO MANY words that I thought would work so I slowly narrowed down 15 words to two – PLAN and PREPARE.  One of my BIGGEST FLAWS is my PROCRASTINATION!  I can always pull things off at the last minute and sometimes choose to plan it that way… but times it backfires and costs me time, money, and sanity…. Unfortunately, Mary is falling in my footprints about procrastination and I can’t even say anything because she is right – I do it all the time….

Anyway, I generally am a planner – I can make a “to do” list on my computer with columns based on the task, plan to get projects done, plan to read, plan to exercise, etc… So I decided planning was NOT the issue it was the execution (that would have been a good word EXECUTE – but may have involved people and not my real purpose – LOL). 

There are things I excel at in life (work, my family, and helping others)… but I am not so strong where I should be… ME, OUR home, and relationships outside my home (although could definitely continue to improve on my family in the home – but think that will be better by fixing ME and OUR home).

So I choose PREPARE – because it was a stronger  action verb and means to be done BEFOREHAND (not at the last minute)

1. a : to make ready beforehand for some purpose, use, or activity <prepare food for dinner> b : to put in a proper state of mind <is prepared to listen>   2. to work out the details of : plan in advance <preparing a campaign strategy> 3. a : to put together : compound <prepare a prescription> b : to put into written form <prepare a report>

My SONG I kept thinking of when I was choosing words… Lord, Prepare Me to be a Sanctuary…  (Note when I hear the word Sanctuary, I think beautiful, serene, calm, simple, a place to meet all my needs… Not a body that is out of shape and tired.. not a soul that is drained and discouraged…  It says a LIVING SANCTUARY  – not just existing and there are many days I get into the routine of life and exist – … I want to really live and enjoy life!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGydpAP5BB0     Lord, prepare me to be a sanctuary – Pure and holy, tried and ture  – With thanksgiving, I’ll be a living Sanctuary for You

My SCRIPTURE…  It doesn’t say wait for the last minute and grab what you can to survive… it says PREPARE…  There are many battles in life – physical, spiritual, emotional, for yourself, for your children, for your marriage – I have to be PREPARED!     Jeremiah 46:3   Prepare your shields, both large and small, and march out for battle!

So, I start this blog… will share my journey… if you want to follow that is fine… this is MY journal because I love to write and it will help keep me accountable…

3 thoughts on “PREPARING for a Soul Search

  1. Julie Umbel January 21, 2012 at 6:49 pm Reply

    I applaud you Sheri!! Will be following you on your journey!

  2. Tomi January 21, 2012 at 7:02 pm Reply

    This is really nice!

  3. Tomi January 25, 2012 at 2:14 pm Reply

    Nice blog. You have a gift for writing.

Leave a Reply

