PREPARE for SICK DAYS

Well, moms are NOT allowed to get sick… or at least NOT allowed to have a Sick Day.      But contrary to popular belief – moms are HUMAN BEINGS and unfortunately get sick.  It is against every ounce of my being to lie in bed for a day, but have learned that sometimes that is the only way God gets my attention and slows me down.  I continued to cook for the family but all other functions such as laundry, vacuuming, cleaning, etc… were put on hold..

     I attempted to lie in bed this morning after working through the night and was quickly greeted by two beautiful children… I love when they have giggle but I really needed the bed just to be very still… so soon I was out of bed and in a chair… I enjoy watching a good movie if I have to lay around, but Jim had the TV and was watching Star Trek…  So, out came my computer and I believe I fell asleep with it in my lap and then enjoyed some reading.

    I miss being a child at moments like today – my mom always took care of me and made me noodle soup and grilled cheese sandwiches with longhorn cheese on Cellones Italian Bread (man I really miss her), when I had the chicken pox Pap Frazee came to the house and played checkers with me, my Grandma Frazee always made me hot tea with LOTS of sugar and milk (she had a green bowl she put under the tea cup and poured the milk until it overflowed into the cup and then you drank that first because it was cool) .  She also made me toast from over the open coal stove using her well-worn fork and holding it over the open flame (a toaster just isn’t the same)….  Oh, those were the days…. Those are some great memories of even bad moments in my life. (It’s all a matter or perspective)

     After today, I realize I need to PREPARE for SICK DAYS… I only had one peppermint tea bag left in my cupboard, would have loved a grilled cheese with longhorn cheese (not sure I would have kept it down, but it sounded so good but no Longhorn cheese), a cup of Lipton Cup of Soup (gave all my soup for a food drive AJ had)… 

     I shouldn’t wait for a sick day to

  • recall the great memories of my childhood (savor them everyday)
  • realize that some of the staples of my cupboards are depleted (procrastinate and never make a grocery list or forget to take it)
  • not wait for a sick day to enjoy simple comfort foods
  • take a moment to read a book – even if it’s just a chapter

I also need to work PREPARE my family – when they are sick, they are catered to their every need.  I still did the dishes, cooked the meals, answered the phone, and gave up the television… It’s not THEIR fault – this is about ME searching MY SOUL and I have never really let illness stop me from taking care of them and have always remained independent (another huge weakness of hating to ask for help) even when I wanted just to be taken care of (and would have loved to had control of at least one of the TVs in our home)…  I need ask for what I want and then learn to let people take care of me… (DEPENDENCE may need to be my word in 2013 – LOL).

 Even scriptures say… James 4:2 “You do not have, because you do not ask”…  I think this applies in many areas of life…

4 thoughts on “PREPARE for SICK DAYS

  1. Bev. Knight January 23, 2012 at 7:13 am Reply

    Sheri, your stories are amazing… I love reading them:)

  2. Lynn Snipes January 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm Reply

    I remember those grilled cheese sandwichs and at all times have a chunk of longhorn cheese for such occassions. Feel better soon my friend!

  3. Julie Umbel January 23, 2012 at 3:55 pm Reply

    Yes, I have to agree with Bev…love reading your stories!! I also have some wonderful memories of my childhood and grandparents! Need to slow down as you say and remember and learn from them!!

  4. Brenda Mitchell January 23, 2012 at 6:43 pm Reply

    I enjoyed another one of your blogs…..thanks for doing this. I enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

