PREPARE to take the FIRST STEP

I don’t know about you but I get overwhelmed when I look at life.  It seems everything is so big and overwhelming…  The current overwhelming things for me are 1. Hhouse (8 rooms to declutter and clean),  2. Kid’s education (evaluations, testing, I.E.P, daily homework, college savings) , 3. Work projects (some major power point projects, education applications, and education classes), 4. Weight loss  (would love  to loose at least 100-125 lbs), 5. Laundry (I think even beach towels from the beach are down there) and 5. Pictures / scrapbooking (haven’t scrapbooked Samuel’s first year yet).    All of these things are important to me, but they are so huge they also become paralyzing.  When I do “TO DO” lists (as I mentioned in yesterday’s blog I haven’t even done one for a while) they are always on there, but seldom get crossed off the list…. Looking at the BIG PROJECT is endless. It’s easier to plan about them then do something about them…

However, things have to change – I can successfully say that between last week, this week, and next week I will have taken at least one step (at times small but still a step) toward every project.  For me that is amazing!!! I have always had the mindset I have to start and finish a whole project; therefore, the first step may never take place.  None of my projects happened overnight. (I didn’t gain 100 pounds in a week, so why would I think I would loose it that way?  Our house is 20 years worth of accumulation.  Etc…)

But, if it is IMPORTANT to you, it is worth the first step, the second step, the third step.  As parents, when our children learned to walk, we were so excited when they took the first step, the second step, the third step… But as an adult, I feel like I have to run the entire marathon.  So instead of the first step, I practice avoidance, thinking the first step doesn’t matter because I can’t conquer the entire marathon.   Nothing in life is easy or free – you have to work for what is important – even if it is ONE STEP.

There are other reasons I don’t take that first step…

  • FEAR of failure of not getting the project done, it won’t turn out as I expected, or someone else will be disappointed.
  • PROCRASTINATION has always been my middle name.  So it is easier to put off to tomorrow that first step since I can’t do it ALL today.
  • LACK OF PREPARING by not including the little steps on my “to do” list instead of just listing house, weight, laundry, work, kids.

Some days, the FIRST STEP is just getting out of bed.  I recently changed my alarm sound on my phone from an annoying rooster crowing to one of my favorite songs by Mandisa Good Morning (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AnmWwudeqfM).  I determined I need to start out NOT being annoyed by a crazy rooster but a song that made me happy to move (:  It was the first step.  No matter how big the project or issue it all starts with a step!!

Dear Lord, guide my steps… keep my feet moving even when my head and heart try to undermine the steps… may I know that even if it is just one step – it is a step moving in the right direction…

* Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.  – Martin Luther King, Jr
* What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step.  – C. S. Lewis
* The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. – Lao Tzu

One thought on “PREPARE to take the FIRST STEP

  1. Renee January 29, 2012 at 9:35 pm Reply

    So true, Sheri! A friend told me some time ago to set goals, but make them small goals that were sensible and within reach of being met. So that’s what I started to do. One small goal (or step) at a time!

Leave a Reply

