PREPARE to FIGHT (or SURRENDER)

There was a little girl (angel) that I never met, nor have I ever met her parents, but everyday of her short life – I prayed for her and her family.  I worked in a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit when I first started my nursing career, but could never imagine what it would be like to sit on the other side. Despite her health problems, Isabella proved to be a FIGHTER.  She surpassed expectations on numerous occasions when she would rally for another fight.   She taught us that prayers are answered sometimes to heal on earth and sometimes to heal in heaven.  A little child could FIGHT with God in her corner… A little child knew when to SURRENDER.  R.I.P. Isabella… you are loved!

There is a little man in my life that everyday that he goes to school he faces a battle, yet continues to go and FIGHT.  He has a brilliant mind but has to FIGHT the battle of communication.  His hands can’t write at the speed his mind thinks.  He is at war with smells, textures, tastes, and sounds on a daily basis.  He conquers one big battle by just opening the school doors and walking in.   His mom watches as his laughter in the car ends and as he gets out of the car to walk in.  His posture and speed changes – the mom wishes he had the confidence to stand tall and didn’t worry what the day holds.  But despite his challenge, defeats, and lack of confidence – everyday he walks through the door.   He is a FIGHTER. 

There is a mom who attended a meeting today about the little man.  She went to FIGHT for him.  She told them how hard he works, how he thinks, and how he learns with specific examples.  Concerns over declining grades for the last few weeks were discussed.  She expresses concern over if the goal is for comprehension or the physical writing because you can’t have both.  She explains that it is black / white for his world and grey will not work.  She request to have technology introduced sooner than later.  She states that she will continue to support him at home with lessons, but will also protect his playtime and being a boy.  They request a possible extended school year (attending during the summer) and the mom FIGHTS that summer is for fun!  Though others seemed to be in the corner to fight for him, their resolve is not the same as the little man’s mom!  The system is not there to fight for him – I think the system expects compromise and surrender!!!  She PREPARES to FIGHT – there is no flag of SURRENDER!

 There is a battle in everyone’s life and there are TWO choices – FIGHT or SURRENDER!  

If you are going through a battle in life and you can’t decide to get into the ring to FIGHT or throw up the white flag of SURRENDER… decide – 1. Is the fight worth it?  2. what do I have to gain from the fight  3. what do I have to loose from the fight.  

If you are a friend of someone standing on the outside of the ring and they can’t decide whether to get in the ring — help them take off their robe of self-doubt, climb in the ring, and be there as they face the opponent.  Wipe the sweat and tears from their face… and be prepared to raise their hand in victory!

If you still wonder – remember Romans 8:31 If God is for us, who (or what) can be against us? 

So really… there is only one choice – get in the ring – face your enemy (even if its yourself) and FIGHT (God has your back as well as others who love you)!

3 thoughts on “PREPARE to FIGHT (or SURRENDER)

  1. Julie Umbel February 2, 2012 at 9:10 am Reply

    What a great pep talk Sheri!!

  2. Bev. Knight February 2, 2012 at 9:26 am Reply

    I have your back! I will do whatever you need me to do! I also lost a grandson who could light up anybody’s day and he did mine… I remember how he would pretent to be asleep for his mom but when he would hear me come home from work, he would smile and open his eyes… Oh how I loved him and he will always be my Angel… I miss him everyday and think about what he would look like or act… My heart is broke for Isabella family. I love you Sheri and I love your little man Sam and I love his laugh! I’m here when and if you need me!

  3. Renee February 2, 2012 at 2:10 pm Reply

    thanks for sharing your feelings. continue to fight…there will be no surrending for Samuel! love you, friend.

Leave a Reply

