PREPARE for VIRUSES

Tis the season for all types of flu and stomach viruses.  You can protect yourself from some of these with protection such as handwashing!, avoiding crowds or sick people, stay home if you are sick so you don’t spread your germs, and for some the flu shot.

For several days my anti-virus software on my computer has been alerting me that my “Virus Protection” would be ending.  I did PREPARE and order the program to re-install (cheaper than just doing instant download), but I didn’t get it on until today when I got the email on my phone that today was it.  (Okay, so I have a little more work on the anti-procrastination – prepared by buying the program but didn’t install the day it came – LOL!).

These are easy viruses to prevent and if I end up catching an illness causing virus chances are it will run its course and I will be fine.  If I caught a virus on my computer, I am blessed to be married to an I.T. guru who can help me eliminate a virus or worse case scenario, I would have to purchase a new computer (thankfully I just backed- up all my important files – pictures, music, and documents – just a week ago). 

I wish life was this easy and I could protect myself from the viruses that eat at the soul.  You know – self-doubt, procrastination, hatred, anger, etc.  It’s all those bad feelings that gnaw at me.  Do I intentionally make a habit of consuming these viruses – absolutely NOT!    But they have a tendency to creep into life and sometimes they have caused damage to “who I am” before I ever realize it.   Little things like  * “road rage” where I get annoyed by people who can’t drive (lol) * hatred for criminals * distaste for laziness (and knowing every month people get “checks” for not working even when they could work.  Even when I criticize myself and complain about things, but don’t do anything to change them…. Slowly these viruses / bad habits / bad feelings eat away at my soul.

Sometimes I need a virus protection from other people’s viruses.  We all have people in our lives, unfortunately, that love to eat away at ours.  “Friends” who lie to us, talk behind our backs, or look out for their own interest before ours.  Mary is always coming home to tell me the latest drama and I can just tell at how it eats away at her.  She often is just a spectator, but I know when we went toFloridawithout school and a cell phone – she was a different person.  She was happy and carefree – almost if her heart / soul had been cleansed by the daily viruses of drama. 

God even has his list of viruses that HE HATES!!! 

Proverbs 6:16-19  –  16 There are six things which the LORD hates, yes, seven which are an abomination to Him:  17 Haughty* eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,   18 A heart that devises wicked plans, feet that run rapidly to evil,   19 A false witness {who} utters lies, and one who spreads strife among brothers.  (NAS)   {  *Haughty – disdainfully proud, snobbish, scornfully arrogant }

 That is a pretty inclusive list… wish I could have a virus protection program to use against these things to protect our souls, protect the souls of our children, protect the souls of our spouse / marriage.    I would definitely add a virus scan for my children to protect them from the drama, meanness, bullying, criticizing, lying that happens at school.  Broken relationships / divorces / abuse — all a result of BAD viruses infiltrating us!!!   

 Viruses happen when (not all inclusive) * Guards are left down – believing it can’t happen to them.  * Follow our hearts only and do not use our heads – choose desire/want over what we know is wrong/right.  * Believe we won’t get caught (and if we do – lie / blame our way out of it)  * Feel that we deserve everything (even if it belongs to someone else).   * Mingle with people / things with known viruses based on their morals and ethics

 Who wouldn’t pay for a “VIRUS PROTECTION” for themselves, their children, their spouse, and their family ?!?!?!  It would be PRICELESS.   Unfortunately that doesn’t exist and as much as I USE to believe it won’t happen to me, my children, and my spouse – I know I have to PREPARE to safeguard what I hold dearest.    I have to

* be the moral compass that my children use when they face viruses (wow, that’s a big responsibility and definitely makes me think I need to step it up a notch with a virus scan of my head/heart).

* ensure that communication is open and honest in our home so that I can listen for signs of viruses.  

* ensure that love is demonstrated and spoken so they don’t look for it outside sources

* know what “makes them tick” to observe for changes, and

* pray for them consistently!

I must PREPARE for VIRUSES!   I can’t wait for the last minute to subscribe because a virus may already be there.  I need to ensure that I am continually running my internal virus scanner to see if my family is being attacked.  I need to be alert of areas at risk early.  I need to pray continually for protection since I can’t be everywhere with them (and some of the sources may even be too big for me to fight alone).  If / when a virus does infiltrate us, actions must be taken to destroy and delete!!! 

 1 Thessalonians 5:17 – PRAY CONTINUALLY…

One thought on “PREPARE for VIRUSES

  1. Julie Umbel February 5, 2012 at 11:00 pm Reply

    I would love to know how many hours I’ve prayed for my kids, husband and all the situations they have found themselves in during the past 35 years??? Only God knows and I’m so thankful for that relationship and that always listening ear! Good one Sheri, keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

