PREPARE to SAVE A LIFE

Remember – this is my blog – my opinion – if you are offended that is okay!!!

I am a nurse, work in a hospital covering new admissions, and married to a volunteer firefighter.   Between the two of us, we have probably seen just about every scenario.  The scanner for fire department and ambulance emergency calls have NOT stopped all day – most of them for wrecks!!!  I will be logging on to work from home shortly and I am sure that most of the patients in the ED are because of wrecks!

The issue is MOST WRECKS could be avoided, especially in bad weather, by PREVENTION – stay home.  Most people on the road are not out because they have an emergency to get to and they are not out because they have to go to work. 

My opinion on days like today that everything should close so people have no reason to go anywhere.  You don’t need to go:

  • Buy groceries, shop, or eat out –  you may have to eat  PB&J sandwiches or cereal… in fact, most of our pantries could use a good clean out by using the food before it expires!!!
  • Watch a movie — you probably have some old DVD/VHS tapes you could watch with the family.
  • To church – God can meet you where ever you are as long as your heart is open (the church doors can be closed).

Considering all the wrecks I have heard about… I am sure their “adventure” cost them more in car repairs, towing, etc… than what it was worth!!!  In addition, if there are casualties their life is worth so much more than any reason being on the road.

I know if I was not scheduled to work at home — I would be calling off!!! It is better to be alive and not laying in the hospital bed than be there for work!  And if I still did hands-on-nursing I would have went in early, stayed inMorgantown(likely at the hospital) and not been out in this mess!

If your child is whining to you because you promise to take them somewhere – teach them a valuable lesson about not risking your life or other people’s lives!  Stay home and do something as a family – that would be something new for many families!! 

However, as a wife of a firefighter, (volunteer – meaning he risks his life for FREE to help!!!) – I get very upset when Jim has to go help someone that should not even be out on the roads!  The emergency crews risk their lives… and I can tell you my husband’s life is far more important to me than anyone’s shopping trip or night out on the town

 PREPARE TO SAVE A LIFE — hang up your super hero cape making you think you are invincible and won’t be in a wreck, hang up your keys, sit back and enjoy the snow and your family. The life you save may be yours, your family, or the emergency responder!!!

If you still think it is okay to be out… become a VOLUNTEER firefighter or emergency personnel… you will know what it is like to have to go out in this mess, have your family sit home and worry about you, and use your bravery for something more worthwhile than the shopping trip….

p.s. thank you for not risking an emergency responders life by being out in this –- plus all the wrecks may keep them from assisting the person with a heart attack or a structure fire!

Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends. – John 15:13     (Firefighters lay down their lives for complete strangers!!!)

3 thoughts on “PREPARE to SAVE A LIFE

  1. Julie Umbel February 11, 2012 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Good one Sheri!!! I’d be so scared if my husband had to go out on days like this! God bless emergency responders and keep them in your care!!

  2. Dorothy Swauger February 11, 2012 at 9:40 pm Reply

    I agree with you, Sheri!! Thanks for writing what many, I’a sure think.
    God bless you.

  3. Kristin February 11, 2012 at 11:58 pm Reply

    We didn’t go to the ballet tonight, as much as I wanted to; it just wasn’t worth it…. Even though we already bought our tickets. Thank you and Jim for all you do!

Leave a Reply

