PREPARE for a DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE

Well, last night Nemacolin Woodland’s Ski Resort (MysticMountain) was a total loss for the contents… but thankfully not a loss of lives – to me that means NOT a TOTAL LOSS!  I see pictures today of what those firefighters were fighting and it gives me chills… not because of what was lost, but what was NOT lost – LIVES!!!  PREPARE for a DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE!

As a firefighter’s wife, when your husband leaves for a fire, you are praying that it is just a “false alarm”.  Pray that when they arrive on scene there is no visible smoke and/or fire.  Instead, I hear fire in the structure and full engulfed. I PRAY FOR GOD’S ANGELS to be there!!  I can feel the pain and fear in the calm voices.  I PRAY!  Multiple stations being called out – I know it isn’t good.  I PRAY!!  Hear total collapse and I pray that all the firefighters are out of the building.  I PRAY HARDER!  I hear about the elements – the foot of snow, the below 0 wind chill factor, the thickness of the smoke, the water source being frozen.  I PRAY HARDER!! You hear about firemen needing to be transported to the hospital and I PRAY HARDER!!!  Read on facebook from Heather that is Stephen – I never want that call she received – I PRAY HARDER!!  It has been hours since Jim has left and I pray no news is good news. I PRAY!  Relief when I hear slowly different stations are clearing the scene.  I STILL PRAY!  Hearing his voice, seeing him come home, and having him crawl in bed next to me – I SAY A PRAYER OF PRAISE!!! 

All the while this is going on… people have a different perspective: * the loss of the beautiful structure * the loss of the contents * the many memories of the place… they are not wrong, but I still scream to myself – WHAT ABOUT THE FIREFIGHTERS – risking their lives.  Though some of the contents are irreplaceable… those fire fighters lives are more irreplaceable – they have families waiting at home….

Also going on is the Grammy’s – I could care less about.  I personally think the Grammy’s are hypocritical… they spend all the money on dresses, parties, etc.. to give awards to people who already make more money then any of us could ever imagine in a lifetime.  They could give up their salaries and save many starving children?   Do they not realize that the firefighters are risking their lives?  Most of them VOLUNTEERS – paid nothing, criticized often, risk their lives for FREE – they don’t have an Award Show, no trophies, no fancy clothes…

Then Whitney Houston – who likely took her life (found in bathtub with pills around her) – I don’t think it’s a coincidence it happened before the Grammy’s – then she was the “Star” of the show, a position she has lost over the years.  If it would have happened any other time there would not have been a show to constantly praise her!  Yes, it is sad… she had all the money she needed and it still wasn’t enough.  But still – do they realize that the firefighters are risking their lives?  Doing it for NO MONEY in the world… doing it because it is in their blood… leaving family behind to save others.   Whitney left family behind by being selfish – firefighters leave family behind because they are SELFLESS!!!    What about all the firefighters who loose their lives – no show for them either (not that they would want it – remember they are selfless).

Thankfully – everyone still has their memories of the resort… but more thankfully – ALL THE FIREFIGHTERS CAME HOME – no awards or money waiting for them!  Society definitely has things out of perspective!!   PREPARE for a DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE!!!

Last year at the Fayette County Fireman’s Memorial, the preacher used this verse and it hit me like WOW  —  

John 15:13 “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends”

Firefighters – lay down their lives for strangers, for structures, for anyone…. 

 

8 thoughts on “PREPARE for a DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE

  1. ashley February 13, 2012 at 4:01 pm Reply

    Thank you so much. As a firefighter I am thankful to have somebody be so grateful for the work we do.

  2. Beverly Knight February 13, 2012 at 4:05 pm Reply

    You said it all!

  3. Lori Tinkey February 13, 2012 at 8:59 pm Reply

    I want to thank you for the thought of our fellow firefighters!!! This is a very common perspective amongst the family and friends of our brother firefighters!!!!

  4. Lori Tinkey February 13, 2012 at 9:05 pm Reply

    I want to thank you for the thought of our fellow firefighters!!! This is a very common perspective amongst the family and friends of our brother firefighters!!!! Thank You to the ones who risk their lives every time the siren sounds!

  5. Alishia Wilders February 13, 2012 at 9:21 pm Reply

    wish there was a love button for this.

  6. Julie February 13, 2012 at 9:51 pm Reply

    Thank You!!!

  7. Twyla Gauden February 13, 2012 at 11:14 pm Reply

    I want to say that my dad has been a volunteer for as long as i can remember and now my brother as well as my fiance and one of my best friends. I worry and pray everytime they are called out. I want to thank you for writing this because firefighters never ask for anything in return and people dont appreciate what it is they do. I love my firefighters. Thank You Very Much.

  8. Amanda Nicklow February 15, 2012 at 10:41 am Reply

    I love this post. Firefighting is in my family’s blood, my father was a chief for many years and now at 73 years old he still goes to fire calls, maybe even more eagerly than some of the young bucks. Also uncles, cousins, and many other close family friends. I even met my husband at the firehouse. So firefighting is very near and dear to my heart. When that structure went up in flames Sunday night and all I could see plastered all over the web was people saddened by the loss of a building. They have no clue what feelings we get when we know our loved ones are there battling that blaze. The only comfort I have is knowing that God will watch over them and they will also watch out for each other. Every call that they all make it home from is never a total loss.

Leave a Reply

