PREPARE to CHANGE MY ATTITUDE (on who I AM)

“Your attitude about who you are and what you have is a very little thing that makes a very big difference” – Theodore Roosevelt

I decided to stick with the Presidential Quote theme.  This one, jumped off the page this morning.  Yes, after my challenge to add Life to my Years, for two mornings I have gotten out of bed with my husband for the past two mornings.  As I said in the beginning I chose PREPARE because in the past I would PLAN to get up early, but never do the ACTION (: 

“Your attitude about who you are… makes a very BIG difference”

This is the part of this quote is what spoke to me this morning.  I know a few people who are very confident of who they are and all they have to offer.  Often, I may have the opinion that they are boastful, snobby, know-it-alls, etc.  Many times people who think they are “God’s gift to humanity” crawl under my skin.  I can see some in my head at the very thought (:

 But, this quote to me says MY ATTITUDE about who I AM… makes a very BIG difference!!!  I have the occasional “good attitude” days about who I am.  Days where I felt I have done well as a wife, a mother, an employee, etc..   However, those days do not come often enough –  I am my worst enemy on most days.   Most days I start the day off with a bad attitude and by the end, my “to do” list is still unfulfilled and I vow tomorrow will be a new day.

Scenario for a bad start… bad hair day, get on the scales to face another failure, clothes don’t fit well or are not comfortable, rush with the kids and get a little (or a lot) grumpy.  The scenario continues if I come home and focus on the big picture.  Scenario continues once the family comes home and I haven’t gotten done what I had hoped or they had a bad day.  Scenario continues as I prepare for bed to realize everything not accomplished… I wake up defeated and go to bed defeated.  He is right ATTITUDE can make a very BIG difference!!!

Also, throughout the day if I work or am out of the house, I will hear people say their house is a mess.  And I will say – come to mine and you will feel better about yours!  If they say they “need to loose weight” I would say stand next to me and you will feel better about yourself.   Why do I have to tear myself down to build others up?  Good question! (but not sure I have the answer except it probably has to do with the attitude I have about myself).

ATTITUDE is something that can be changed.  In addition, the many things I use to define my attitude of myself are changeable too.   Areas I currently use to “define” myself and how to PREPARE to CHANGE MY ATTITUDE on WHO I AM!

  • Bad hair – BUT, many would love my naturally curly hair, cancer patients would love just to have hair, and I can always take a moment in time and get it cut.
  • Scales – could choose either NOT get on them in the morning or do something about the number I see.  Either let the “number” define who I am, or look at the “number” as a tool to make decisions through the day (what I eat or avoid eating).
  • Clothes – clean out my closet – if it doesn’t fit or doesn’t feel good, get rid of it.  Some people could use the clothes.  Don’t save them for the day they may fit or even worse keep in case I gain weight back.  One purchase I made this week was a new nightgown – every time I was in Walmart I would look at them since they were butter soft and often would say I didn’t need to spend the $13.  I should have done it a long time ago – there is nothing like comfortable clothes that make you feel good in your skin (: Time to re-examine buying something because it is on sale and focus on that  makes me feel good!
  • Rushing – another choice.  I can get up earlier, get things ready the night before, try to accomplish less, or all of the above!
  • Grumpy – this is a choice.  I can focus on at least they made it to school.  Instead of grumbling – praying for a good day, strength to make it through the morning and the day, etc. 
  • Unfulfilled “To do” list – I can make the list REALISTIC, realize no one will die if the list is NOT done, break big projects into small pieces.  Another thing is I try to please everyone – maybe my goals aren’t even what would matter to them. If my goal is to make others happy, then I need to know what that is.  Otherwise, I set us all up for failure.

The choice is mine… when I undermine WHO I AM.. I undermine the work of God.  HE MADE ME!!   My attitude should look more like this

  1. I am a child of God – with Him as my Father the possibilities are endless! (“‘I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters,’ says the Lord Almighty.” (2 Corinthians 6:17-18, NIV)
  2. He created me and I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalms 139:14  For you created my inmost being;  you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful)
  3. He gave me the perfect husband for me – so He can help me be the perfect wife for him – it all comes down to LOVE (I Corinthians 13)
  4. He gave me two wonderful children – so He can give me the knowledge to be the perfect mom for them – I just have to ask (James 1:5 If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given)
  5. Focus on what I can do through HIM and not what I can do by myself (Phillipians 4:13 I can all things through Christ who strengthens me). 
  6. Christ looks at the heart – not the outward appearance. This is not saying I should look like crap – lol.  But if my heart is right, everything else will fall in place.  I am MORE than the number on the scale  ((I Samuel 16:7 “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”)
  7. When I love myself – I am praising God for what He has created and opening myself to the ability to love others even more! 

Roosevelt was right — MY ATTITUDE ABOUT ME – can make a VERY BIG DIFFERENCE!!!

One thought on “PREPARE to CHANGE MY ATTITUDE (on who I AM)

  1. Julie Umbel February 25, 2012 at 1:41 pm Reply

    Don’t feel bad Sheri! I think all busy mothers all feel this way at times. I think we are our own worst enemies which you mentioned but with Christ all things are possible! Very good writing!

Leave a Reply

