PREPARE for THE PITS

 My week is looking a little different than I planned.  Honestly, I am feeling a little in “a funk” or “a fog” or “in a pit”.  And I really don’t like feeling like this – kind of solemn, kind of sad, kind of overwhelmed, kind of empty… 

This blog has been a life changer for me – I look at life so differently than I have in the past.  I truly want to make positive changes that I have always talked about doing before.  I find myself really listening to little cues going on around me that one day I would have swept under the rug and dealt with later (or never).  I am so excited about some of the things I am envisioning for my life (and my family).  Amazed at some of the things I have taken care quickly and overcome procrastination in many areas.

However, I still find myself in some pits: * dwelling on things and not taking care of them either because I don’t know how to OR I don’t want to OR procrastination (unfortunately is still a bigger part of me than I want!).  * projects that I want to do but time constraints exist – but some are my own “time constraints” that I have created – probably to avoid doing them * lack of vision of how to move forward * lack of perspective of the real pits / problems – what I perceive to be the issue may not really be what is going on (ex: when I have a disagreement with someone the argument is not usually the real problem, it is all the root issues that grew into that).

The thing about a pit – I can either STAY IN the pit or I can GET OUT of the pit.  The choice is MINE!!! Even if the pit is what someone else is doing to me – I have to assume responsibility for my piece of the problem, my reaction to the problem, and how I can change my reaction to the problem.  I choose to PREPARE to GET OUT of the PIT.  There is too much of life to live to be bogged down and stuck in a pit.   Especially the pits that are truly small – but by staying there they appear and feel larger than they are in reality.  My pits are mine – they will not go away by themselves.  I have to accept ownership, responsibility, and eradicate them! So how do I get out – RETREAT

When I looked up retreat on Webster online – it is so fitting.

* an act or process of withdrawing especially from what is difficult, dangerous, or disagreeable –  PITS can be difficult and dangerous depending on what the pit is.  Maybe I will be brave soon and reveal my person pits on paper in my blog.  Maybe as I face them and get out of them, I will feel more comfortable to share the pit and the process to get out of it. 

 * a period of group withdrawal for prayer, meditation, study, or instruction –  this is the time for me with withdrawal from “routine” to focus on my pits.  I am sure prayer, study, instruction, and meditation will definitely be involved!

 So time for R-E-T-R-E-A-T

  • Recognize the pits
  • Establish a plan to get out of each pit
  • Take on the small / easy pits first – prioritize what they are
  • Reach out for assistance – for the rope my friends / family hold out for me
  • Establish a VISION of what I want life to look like and what will replace the pits
  • Allow myself a realistic timeframe.  I didn’t fall in the PIT overnight
  • Tackle things in the future BEFORE the pit exists!

 I feel better already!  Some great ideas and thoughts going on in my heart and head!  The power of writing for me is amazing.  There is a day I would have just thought and thought and dwelled in the pit.  By putting it on paper and posting on the blog.  It makes it more realistic and I feel more accountable to myself and to my “audience” of blog followers! 

I look forward to my RETREAT! I am PREPARED not just for the PITS but to get OUT OF THE PITS!!!

 Psalm 40:2 NIV:  “He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.”

One thought on “PREPARE for THE PITS

  1. Renee February 27, 2012 at 1:56 pm Reply

    Retreat to my place this week – I’m so looking forward to making us lunch and visiting. I’ll always have a rope, and luckily it has 2 ends, cuz sometimes I need pulling out too 🙂 I love the bible verse.

Leave a Reply

