prepare to be the SCARECROW

So, today I slept in – really slept in – woke up at 8:25 and we really should be leaving in about 10 minutes for school.  Of course, the great procrastinator had not packed lunches, done homework with Sam, prepared book bags, or laid out my clothes.  Of course, when we rush things get missed (i.e left the homework we had done on the kitchen table) and tempers get flaring (like I am the only one with an alarm clock in my room).  But you know…  I am the mom… therefore, responsible. 

Mary got to school on time – we are good under pressure (=  Sam was about 3 minutes late, but of course, the rushing meant no TV time, no play time, and only grabbing a quick snack for breakfast, which of course he was wearing all over his face )=   I always have wet-ones in the car so a quick wipe and we are done – right??? Nope, I rubbed “too hard”, rushed “too fast”, and lead to crying (note, both of us – Sam as he was in the car and me as I got back in the car).  I knew he would be okay, but it doesn’t make it easy.

The dog would not come in the house when we left so had to return home after dropping off the kids to get her to come in.  Plus, needed to stick closer to home for a few extra minutes just in case the school called because Sam was still upset…. No phone calls, dog came in, time for me to get to work.  Of note, the one good thing was my check engine light went OFF (it has been on for a few days because my gas cap had issue – which my wonderful husband picked up this week).

I also had offered to work while the kids were in school… well, I didn’t get my cup of tea in my favorite mug “Live Today with Passion” and of all days, I could have probably used that message most.   I walked in and I am pretty sure I most resembled the Scarecrow from the Wizard of Oz — if I only had a brain (I am pretty sure I left it on the kitchen table with Samuel’s math homework…  I am thankful for amazing co-workers who were there to pick me up in my moments of “blankness”.   Made it through the day… back home to get Sam (Jim picked up Mary and though I would love to have him get Samuel – that just leads to one big melt down when it is Jim picking him up).

After a day like that, it feels great to get home… take off your shoes and relax.. but of course, there was more running to do, supper to make, dishes to do, etc… – thankfully none of those required much thought (because I didn’t find my brain when I came home – the dog probably ate it off the table – LOL).  When I ran Mary to the Basketball game at school, I thought I would take a magazine to read; however, I had no ability to even focus on reading.  In hindsight, I am not even sure what I thought about… I did get to listen to Samuel’s laughter and lines from movies, him playing Angry Birds and destroying those pigs, and shared some Pink Round Lozenger candy I found in my magazine bag with a tiny bag of chocolate.

 A few other random things happened, but they too, thankfully were “no-brainers”. I could chalk up today/tonight as a very chaotic non-productive day… However, I think I need to prepare to be the SCARECROW a little more often.  Not so much in the sense of sleeping in, but in not over thinking / over analyzing.  The day just rolled along despite my ability to focus or concentrate.  Because I couldn’t find my brain to focus on

  • work as much as usual – I allowed people to help me (not a position I like to be in). 
  • what to cook for supper – my family actually had to give me feedback.
  • important things – I offered to take Mary to game at school and she got to enjoy time with friends outside of class time.
  • reading (even brainless magazines) – I got to enjoy the humor of Samuel and his great memory (wonder if I could borrow his brain tomorrow – lol)
  • my to do list – I get to procrastinate legitimately till tomorrow of things that would have been on the list (=
  • attitudes – I didn’t dwell on people’s negative comments because that would require focusing and interpreting.

 Definitely, need to prepare to be the SCARECROW a little more often and not take life so seriously… 

 Wizard of Oz:  “Why, anybody can have a brain. That’s a very mediocre commodity. Every pusillanimous creature that crawls on the Earth or slinks through slimy seas has a brain. Back where I come from, we have universities, seats of great learning, where men go to become great thinkers. And when they come out, they think deep thoughts and with no more brains than you have. But they have one thing you haven’t got: a diploma.”

Leave a Reply

