prepare to CLIMB MOUNTAINS!

Some lessons in life, I am not sure why I have to go through them, but I know I am not alone.  There are daily little struggles where I just stop and shake my head in disbelief / shock / confusion.  Then there are the BIG obstacles that I face that I am not sure I am strong enough to endure and will admit – question God of why I have to endure them.  Overall, I am a good person, try to make the best decision for our family, believe in Christ and try to let His examples live through me, etc… It’s the internal conversation justifying why it shouldn’t be me going through things!  That conversation can prove to be very dangerous – who am I to think I am above anything??? How can I be so vain? 

I think I have to come with a new perspective and it isn’t going to be easy – the voices inside my head can be pretty loud (LOL)… 

  • Should I not be saying… WHY NOT ME?  What is this going to teach me?  How will this help me look at life through a different perspective?
  • I could also say… THANK YOU LORD for believing that I am strong enough to handle this!  Thank you Lord that you will be with me no matter what happens!  Thank you Lord for giving me a chance to change my priorities!  Thank you Lord for making me realize what incredible friends and family I have.
  • I need to think… What am I suppose to learn from this – and listen for the answer (the being still to hear will be rough)! What can I do to maximize this experience (because I definitely do NOT want to go through this again!)?

 I always talk to Mary that happiness is a choice.  Our reaction to life experiences are a choice.  You can be bitter or better; give in or fight; accept or deny; overcome or be overcome.  I think I need to practice what I preach.  Well, I am facing what seems to be a huge mountain, I can choose to climb it, go around it, or not make a move.

  • I am NOT choosing to go around it, because I do not believe God placed me here to avoid it by going around it.  If I don’t face this challenge with His guidance, what other challenge will he need to bring?
  • I am NOT going to sit and wait for something to happen.  Though sitting and being still to hear God’s whisper is important, but life changing moments take action!  I have to move forward and now sit and wallow in self-pity.  The mountain isn’t going to move…So,
  • I am going to prepare to CLIMB THE MOUNTAIN!  He brought me to it to challenge me, challenge my thoughts, and challenge my priorities.  He brought me to it to test my faith in him, my trust in him, and my willingness to seek him.  I will be a stronger person, Christian, wife, and mother as a result of the climb.   I don’t have to climb it alone thanks to some awesome prayer warrior friends/family.

 Climbing takes work and I am definitely out of shape (especially spiritually). My directions / destination have been a little off as I haven’t kept my eyes looking upward (have gotten distracted by side roads).  My pace needs work (slow down and pace myself).  My teamwork needs some work after all these years of trying to rely on my own strength.  My equipment is a little dusty from not being used enough (my Bible).  

There is a big mountain in front of me… and many more small and big ones I am sure.  I am ready for the challenge as I do not face it alone! 

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.  -Philippians 4:13

One thought on “prepare to CLIMB MOUNTAINS!

  1. Renee May 26, 2012 at 12:30 pm Reply

    You are not alone and I am on your team! At that 1 word, ‘help’ – I’ll be there to carry you, push you or pull you! God will help you climb the mountain! He knows you can do it, he just wants you to know it and others as well! Love you, my friend! Praying 🙂

Leave a Reply

