prepare for MY NEW STORY

Which blog to write.. which blog to write…I just finished an amazing book… listened to it first on my Kindle and then read it again. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller. I saw it posted on Facebook on someone’s page. It is a very different book from what I would usually read… but it made me really stop and think. It talks about our life being a story. I am the main character and what I do / don’t do is my story. I am not sure I like all the chapters in my life. I think many have gone by without anything significant to say. Many times, I just exist and go through the routine of life. What does my character say about me.. What would others feel or learn by reading my story?
One of the chapters that really struck a cord with me was when the author was talking to his friend with a thirteen-year-old daughter – which hits very close home! The girl got involved with a boy who was on drugs etc. The author said to his friend she is not living a very good story. The more they talked the author described how the daughter lived this story because at home there wasn’t a story and so she chose one that was exciting. The friend pondered the conversation and then took a big leap of faith and re-wrote his family’s story by becoming involved in a cause outside the family as a family. The daughter dumped the boy because her family story was more exciting. What kind of story does our family have? Is it enough to keep our children engaged in… Family should ALWAYS have the better story…
Other chapters talked about other people and their stories.. Ordinary people doing amazing things.. The author took chances and faced fears and got off of his couch to make new stories. He was an ordinary man who realized not to wait for things to happen but to make them happen. He looked at life, as “that would make a good story”.
I bought a copy of the book for someone who is young and many chapters to write, Mary and I have talked about the book and what stories she could have. It is about being intentional in life. And also talked about stories do we need to write as a family. What awesome conversations! I have an incredible daughter with a great head on her shoulders. However, as a mom, I have to be sure I stay involved and interested in her story too!
He also mentions if I do not reach out, challenge, face fears and do something with my life…. I may be wasting a story God had for me.. OUCH! How many times have I allowed fear, procrastination, or laziness to stand in the way of my story? My I will do it tomorrow attitude… my I am too lazy to take the steps to be healthier… my fear of failure attitude. These attitudes have kept me from some great stories.
I need to prepare my story… I need to chose the chapters with care. I need to be sure my children are engaged in the story. I need to be sure my husband is part of the amazing story. I need to stop living in the routine of life! I need to let God author and help me write my story. I need to make my family main characters of the story over work and other “necessities” that get in way of my story. I have one story with prayerfully many more chapters! When I get to heaven I want to be sure that there is plenty for God and I to talk about… I want Him to love that I did not waste this beautiful life on chapters that do not matter… I want him to say thank you good and faithful servant for living mother story I wrote for you… here is to a new chapter..

“And once you live a good story, you get a taste for a kind of meaning in life, and you can’t go back to being normal; you can’t go back to meaningless scenes stitched together by the forgettable thread of wasted time.” ― Donald Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life

2 thoughts on “prepare for MY NEW STORY

  1. Renee June 19, 2012 at 4:47 pm Reply

    Sounds like a book that should be read by all. Love book referrals.

    • sherisoulsearch June 19, 2012 at 11:42 pm Reply

      I so recommend this book.. it really made me stop and think! He is also a Christian and some of the descriptions of that perception made me ponder even longer….

Leave a Reply

