prepare for INSPECTIONS

The thing I like least about work is it interrupts my / our personal life (=  I so miss writing.  I started a blog the other day, but it got too emotional, so will have to go back when the time is right.  However, a few experiences this week really made me take a few step back.

Today after work, I stopped to get groceries.  Not really what I wanted to do, but my daughter had sent me a list – Ben&Jerry Phish Food Ice cream, Vanilla Ice cream, Chopped Peanuts, Caramel, Spray Whipped Cream… do you see where she is going with that – an ice cream sundae.  I got GREEN Mint Chocolate Chip for our son (the only ice cream he will eat out of a bowl, although this week he spread his wings at Nanny & Poppas and ate ice cream bars dipped in chocolate – several of them in fact).  I purchased Strawberry and a new Turkey Hill Extra Dark Chocolate Ice Cream for my wonderful husband.  I really wanted the Banana Pie Ice Cream, and still have some regrets, but knew I would eat the WHOLE tub and have really been trying to make a conscious effort to be a little healthier.  Anyway, while I was in the store there was a mass group of people all dressed in uniforms and appeared to be inspectors of some type.  I have never seen so many registers running at the front.  The greeters were in place directing you to the shortest line.  One cashier said to another one who was hanging out in customer service area that she better get on a register before THEY come up front.  Inwardly, I chuckled.  And all I could think of was prepare for an INSPECTION.

I work in healthcare and Joint Commission or The State Office or the Medicare officials, etc.. could walk in at anytime and declare they are there for an inspection.  When you know people are coming it is easy to prepare for the inspection.  Emails float around of educational points.  When I worked on the floor, it wasn’t uncommon to have educational points posted in the bathrooms. We prepared, prepared, prepared and generally the preparation paid off and the inspection went smoothly.  It is a little more interesting when people show up unexpected and announce they are there for an INSPECTION.  It is a big deal as they can fine the facility; shut the facility down, etc.  They have mock inspections throughout the year and we do our education courses online all to prepare for an INSPECTION.

Then there are the infamous car inspections that I HATE!!! Last year, I went to two different garages for an inspection and the first said I needed a transmission fluid dipstick, back brake plates, and a new motor for my back windshield wiper (that still works) to pass inspection.  The second garage named ball joints, a turn signal light (that worked), and another item.  I didn’t return to either place and got inspected at a third location.  I realize I am a person who does not know much about cars, but I am not completely clueless.  However, it has left a very bad taste in my mouth, and I have yet to get my car inspected… first I knew I needed brakes and tires to pass and took care of that, but now to squeeze in an appointment with the fear of the list that needs repaired.  I am going to have to go, and though I think I am prepared for the INSPECTION, I know they will find something… UGH!!!

I know I have said I love my Kindle with the read to me feature, but I really enjoy it! So, I have downloaded several books and really most of them have to do with INSPECTING my life and looking on what I can do differently / better for a more positive outcome, you know looking for the solution.  I will also be perfectly honest, I do not always like the magnifying glass they put on my life.  I like to roll through life as though nothing bothers me.  I seem to fill my days with work and running and chores, probably to avoid the inspection.  I am currently re-reading a book I read two years ago that probably opened my eyes the first time to looking at the many gifts I have in life and how they could be better – how I could be happier with the things already blessed to me.  The problem often is that like society, I often think we need more to be happy, instead of finding happiness in what already exists simply by a change in attitude.  The author Gretchen Rubin (the book is The Happiness Project) discussed how she took a year to research this and then implemented the Project by focusing on a couple things each month.  I don’t want to wait the year, and could probably tell you the things I would like changed with just a few moments inspecting my life.  I also believe that the wake-up call from God with the possibility of endometrial cancer calls for an inspection and changing things NOW and not waiting. It is a new month and I am starting on my Happiness Project (more details to follow) because I know my focus for this month.

The good thing about inspections is the report tells you your strengths and weaknesses and you have a chance to change those items.  I also believe that though things in life are good – your marriage, your friendship, your relationship with children, etc – they can always be better.  Another thing about the book that I love is that it doesn’t say run out and get xyz to make you happy, but focus on what you have.  I think it becomes easy when you have people around you all the time that you soon take it for granted.  I know I have gotten comfortable in relationships – especially with my husband.  I remember getting all dressed up for a date and not only have I physically changed, but my attitude has changed. So even if you have a good marriage – it can be a great marriage (another book that was read to me by Kindle helped me focus on this – more details in future blog).  I know that my relationship with my children is good – but I want it to be great.  I have to take the steps to work on that and with cyber school / home school just around the corner, I will have even more interaction in their life.  I also think as friends evolve they get comfortable and aren’t as in-tune with the friendship – but I want that to change.  I can dream that I want my husband to do more, my children to do more, my friends to do more, when the reality is that I SHOULD only INSPECT MY LIFE and be the one who changes.  If I don’t want to change, then I have to accept the relationship for what it is and not dwell on what I want them to do or how I want them to change!

But I believe the ultimate inspection comes from my knowing that I am in the will of God.  I think about the scripture in Matthew 25: 35-40 that talks about how we treat others is how we treat him – hungry (feed them), thirsty (give them drink), strangers (invite in), naked (clothe them), sick (visit them), prison (go to them).  There is a song on KLOVE about Jesus in Disguise (Brandon Heath) that really makes me think.  How do I treat other people?  Would they see Jesus in me?  Or can I imagine them being Jesus in Disguise? I will be perfectly honest; this is an area of self inspection that I really need to work on because I could give you lists of people that I am pretty sure are NOT JESUS IN DISGUISE!  However, how I treat people is definitely a reflection on my claim to be a Christian.  My attitude in public and private (and on Facebook) is also a reflection on my claim to be a Christian.  I have a lot of work to do because my self inspection is falling short. I have to continually prepare to INSPECT my life and even become more prepared to allow Christ to INSPECT my life!  The cost of failing my self inspection is an unsatisfied and unfulfilled life… the cost of failing Christ’s inspection – my eternal life in Heaven! Humbling….

 

 

Fyi the book info: http://www.amazon.com/Happiness-Project-Morning-Aristotle-Generally/dp/006158326X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1343957889&sr=1-1&keywords=the+happiness+project

FYI the song Jesus in Disguise: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AXD3Xq6Z6U&feature=related_

 

Matthew 25: 35-40   35‘For I was hungry, and you gave Me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave Me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you invited Me in; 36naked, and you clothed Me; I was sick, and you visited Me; I was in prison, and you came to Me.’ 37“Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry, and feed You, or thirsty, and give You something to drink? 38‘And when did we see You a stranger, and invite You in, or naked, and clothe You? 39‘When did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40“The King will answer and say to them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.’

 

 
Leave a Reply

