prepare to DREAM BIG!

Martin Luther King is well known for “I have a dream”… We talk about the dreams we have at night and their potential symbolism.  Dreams were recognized in the Bible (here is a pretty neat site to visit http://www.evangelicaloutreach.org/dreams.htm). Society encourages people to go for their dreams with quotes like “Just Do It”.  I encourage my children every night by saying “Sweet Dreams and don’t let the bed bugs bite” (thanks to Grandma Frazee). I remember as a child falling to sleep trying to think of all the fun things so I would have sweet dreams.   Somewhere along the line, my thinking of pleasant things to dream of has become a focus of things not done yet, my mental to do list, and issues from the day.  When I think of dreams, I think of light hearted and pleasant, not like baggage from the day and a heavy heart and mind.  I think of Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz where she was told just close your eyes and click you heels together and say “There is no place like home.”  I can’t remember the last time I felt I could close my eyes and just focus on one thing.   So as I continue my reading quest, I am realizing through some pretty incredible books that on a daily basis, I sell myself short and therefore sell short those around me. 

Cindrella sang “A Dream is a Wish your heart makes… when you’re fast asleep.” I do believe I control my dreams during sleep only by what I think about when I am falling asleep.  I know that it affects Sam’s dreams, if he watches some of the National Geographic about monsters, he is sure to climb in our bed at some point in the night.  As an adult, I believe that not only do my thoughts before I go to sleep affect my dreams, but definitely impacts my sleep.  But, I am referring more to the real dreams I have for my life.  The ones I envision when my eyes are wide open and my heart is receptive to possibilities to exist in my life.  The dreams I imagine that can improve my life, and improve the lives of those around me.  I think about them often, but recently read about the power of putting them on paper (The Me Project by Kathi Lipp).  It is a step in commitment.  A step to say, this is what I want for life and taking the steps to make them happen. So I have bought the journal the book recommended and I am hoping to take an afternoon just to putting them into writing. 

However, the biggest area that I fall short of is living the dreams the God has in his plans for me.  The scripture “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11.   To me this verse says He has BIG dreams for me to prosper me, give me hope, give me a future. So… why don’t I listen to Him?  It’s easy for me to list MY DREAMS, but do they align with His dreams for me.  I am sure His dreams are probably bigger than mine.  What happens if my dreams and His dreams for me do not align? Will my dreams fail or succeed? What if I don’t like His dreams for me?  How can I know and hear His dreams for me if I don’t take the time to hear Him?

Just as our children bring their requests to me and say help make this happen, Christ waits for us to bring our dreams to Him and say “Please help make this happen.”  I do not believe that He will look at my list and go “There is no way you can do this”.  I believe He will look at my dream list (since He already knows my heart) and say “You can do more than this!”  “I want to give you even more than this.”    In Psalms 37:4 “Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart”.  The key is I have to know Him and delight in Him… He wants to give me my desires.  He wants to help me fulfill my dreams!  So I prepare to DREAM BIG because I have a Heavenly Father who is just waiting for me to hand them over!

“Dreams are illustrations… from the book your sould is writing about you.” – Marsha Norman 

The book the ME PROJECT  (http://www.amazon.com/Me-Project-Living-Always-Wanted/dp/0736929665/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1344478297&sr=1-1&keywords=the+me+project)

Leave a Reply

