prepare to CHANGE EYE SIGHT

It was quite a busy day – I had a doctor’s appointment, then the kids had well-child visits, and then another appointment for Mary and getting Sam to Poppa’s for a sleep-over.  At the end of the appointments I ran to Target for some essentials and then a brief stop at Barnes & Nobles.  I could spend HOURS in the book store and so could Mary.  Unfortunately, we were on a time restraint today, but probably better for my wallet.  I particularly LOVE magazines.  I had got to read a partial magazine at a previous appointment and I was on the hunt for it.  One of the things I love about back-to-school is magazines giving suggestions to get organized, cool lunch ideas, etc.   But, one magazine that I have only found at B&N is called life:beautiful.  It is a Christian magazine and the pictures are beautiful, the touch of the pages are smooth, and the articles are uplifting.  I guess should subscribe to the magazine and then I could avoid B&N – saving me money, but missing out on fun admiring the books and magazines.

 I also love the title Life:Beautiful – so much a vision for me when I close my eyes… how do I view life?  I can’t always say that I describe my life as beautiful.  Today, it would have been better described as chaotic and over-booked.  I also had an interesting conversation with Mary, as often happen on our rides, and see our life in a whole new light.  Then I watched Nate Berkus (my favorite designer and releasing a new book in October) and they are talking about beautiful table.  Ironic that a table was also part of Mary and I’s discussion.  Also, the magazine also highlighted beautiful tables.  Putting the incidences together makes me realize they both happened today to “speak to me” .

 One of the other frequent conversations is the perception of beauty in society.  A certain height & weight, makeup, clothes, etc… Thankfully, as she ages, she realizes that society’s eyeglasses of beauty can be a little tainted.  She has learned to love her height, her curly hair, and the color of her hair.  I know that I struggle with perception of beauty when I look in a mirror.  I feel the struggle that Mary has.  This past weekend, she was placed in a room of strangers with very different body types.  I felt her pain.  This past weekend we went to a wedding reception, and honestly the last thing I felt was beautiful.   The bride was beautiful, and thankfully the eyes were all on her! 

 Really, life is all about perception – I have a beautiful life in the view of blessings, healthy children, faithful husband, and good jobs.  But could I not add to the beauty?!?!

 I think it is true – beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  Well, this beholder needs to work on my eyesight!  And if my eyesight is really looking at the heart – the heart of our home, the heart of me – my perception of beauty may change.  However, I also believe the beholder should not accept things as they are if there is room for improvement.  I need to step back and say, what needs to change to make life:beautiful?  For some things it will be making a change for improvement (redesigning pieces of our life to increase the beauty for our family).  For other items, it will be looking a little deeper than the surface for the beauty (though our home may not be beautiful yet – the hearts within our home are).  As far as external things there is definite room for improvement from our home to my body!  But I need to prepare to make the changes or change my eyesight.

Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it” – Confucius

People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.” – Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

Leave a Reply

