prepare to UPLIFT

Well, from what I know, the devil has been exceptionally busy this week… causing havoc, broken hearts and families, lies/deceit, doubts, insecurities, and chaos to overcome hearts, minds, and souls.  I am not talking about weak people, but strong  people, some even strong Christians. Some I have talked to, some I have read on facebook, and at times it has been me or my family personally.  And to be honest, I just don’t understand and honestly, my prayers have changed to help me understand to “just get me through it Lord”.

I mowed the grass earlier this week and it really made me think about an analogy of life, and this week, I believe it to be extra applicable.  There were places in our yard that were very high and as I mowed through those areas, I could see where I had been.  There was a clear path and I could see what swipe to take next in the yard.  In the areas of the fine grass, I know I went over the area more than once because I couldn’t tell if I had got it before.  After this week, I truly believe, just like the taller grass – the deeper the problem once I get through it, I can look back and see * where I have been * what I have survived * what Christ has brought me through.  I think sometimes, for me, when it is a small problem, I keep repeating it or going through it again and again because I can’t see where I have been.   There is a Christian song by MikesChair called Let the Waters Rise.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2RP6DRVWpU.  I need to remind myself that no matter the depth of the water, it can be parted for me to walk through (like the Red Sea).  And if the water is not parted, Christ can walk upon it and carry me no matter how deep!

The other image that comes to mind is from Finding Nemo – just keep swimming, just keep swimming http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmyUkm2qlhA.  As the waters of troubles rise, I really only have a few choices * do nothing and drown, * just keep swimming and will eventually make it through, or * reach out my hand to a friend to help pull me out, and * cry out to my Savior so He can save me!  Swimming and reaching and crying out require ACTION on my part. I can’t sit back and act like nothing is going on – I will drown! 

 I have some really amazing women in my life that are going through things I hope to never experience (broken marriages, troubled children, employment issues, health issues), but no one is immune to problems.  I am so blessed that they have been placed in my life as I can look at my “problems” and * realize their waters are so much higher, * I can throw a life preserver out by being a listening ear * I can send for help from the Heavenly Father by praying for them * I can lift them up when their legs are too weak to stand on their own. * I can be Dorey from Finding Nemo and give them the words of encouragement (just keep swimming).

 I know I have some * extra praying to do for my friends * extra blessings to count that they are in my life and I can be there for them * extra gratitude that my problems are so insignificant in comparison * extra listening to do so I can hear their cries for help!  I need to prepare to UPLIFT!

 “I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something. And because I cannot do everything I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.” ~ Hellen Keller

 “Don’t wish it were easier, wish you were better. Don’t wish for fewer problems, wish for more skills. Don’t wish for less challenges, wish for more wisdom.” ~ Earl Shoaf

Leave a Reply

