prepare to be an OVERCOMER

Recently our pastor completed a series of messages on being Overcomers.  I so need to become an OVERCOMER.  By definition, to overcome is to * get the better of in a struggle or conflict; conquer; defeat (to overcome the enemy) * to prevail over; surmount; (to overcome one’s weaknesses). 

I don’t want to be overcome (overpowered or overwhelmed in body or mind by exertion or emotion (or liquor or drug).  It seems lately like I could easily be overcome with emotion – crying at the drop of a hat because I can’t do it all anymore.  There have been times when liquor would seem a realistic choice to help me relax or numb me from the feeling.

Get the better of in a struggle or conflict; conquer; defeat (to overcome the enemy) –  I want to prepare to be the OVERCOMER – the one who wins the struggle, who conquers the enemy, and defeats the negative.  So what is the struggle and enemy?  Honestly, it is usually myself.  When something that does not go as planned in my self-centered mind, I begin to become “my own worst enemy” as some would say.  I start to wallow in a big trough of “self-pity”.  I feel like the powerless person on the T.V. Commercial that says “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.”   The interesting thing is that the woman in the commercial has a lifeline (thanks to Life Alert).  I have that same life line – I have friends I could call.  I have a heavenly Father I could cry out to.  I have family that would assist me.  But, instead, I lay there and say I just can’t get up.

To prevail over; surmount; (to overcome one’s weaknesses). Oh, do I have a list of weaknesses that I need to prepare to OVERCOME.   These haven’t always been weaknesses, but what happens when one gets out of control, they all get encompassed. I have all the knowledge in my mind and I can give great advice to help others out.  However, when it comes to my life, our home, our children, I feel inadequate.  I know what I bring to the family should be so much more.  I can completely understand how someone can become so overwhelmed with everything life throws at them that they sink into a deep depression.  I cannot imagine taking my life, thankfully, but unfortunately many see it the only way to overcome the circumstances drowning them. 

I am a pretty easy spirit by nature.  It takes quite a bit to rattle me… or at least that is the persona I live to the outside world.  While, internally, I feel weak and overcome by all I need to do, all I want to change, and all I need to improve.  I feel overcome by all my “failures”.  Oh, and the other thing with me is I hate to argue.  It is definitely easier for me to give in then to take on a battle. VERY Dangerous in some circumstances. I also think that is why it is easy to be overcome… because it is easier to give in then not take on the battle…

I have mentioned before the amazing women in my life.  My mom was one of them and though she had an illness that eventually consumed her, she rarely let it the situation overcome her (and like me, when it did, it was the inward battle and the world didn’t hear about it).  I have friends that have been through more than they could ever possibly deserve.  I am inspired at how they have overcome the situations they have been given and for the gracefulness in which they overcame.  I am so blessed that they come to me to share their pains and allow me the opportunity to know so I can know how to pray for them.   I am blessed that they trust me with their secret struggles. They are OVERCOMERS (unfortunately, like me, they don’t see that when they look in the mirror –  they still see themselves as overcome).

I read a blog earlier tonight that caught my eye “I’m maxed out” and want to quit and need a break… that is exactly why I read it, because I could post that on some / many / every day. The interesting scripture that was mentioned, 2 Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”    — So this scripture says boast about my weaknesses – I thought, are you crazy.  I want everyone to believe I am strong and I will put on the everything is okay face.   But, if I don’t let others know of my weaknesses – God, friends, family – how can they pray for me? How can they help me?  I can be an OVERCOMER by letting others help and especially relying on Christ’s power to sustain me!  I am able to help others because they trust me to tell me their need and I can help them be an OVERCOMER.  Why do I always feel I need to do it alone?  (answer – stubborn, resisting admitting weakness, etc..)

One of the scriptures I am sure that was mentioned at church (i.e. I am sure the notes from the sermon are somewhere – LOL)… I remembered the messages, but at the time, I am sure I sat in the pew convinced Mark, our pastor, was talking to someone else – LOL!!! Amazing how things are pulled out of my brain exactly when need.  John 16:33 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace.  In the world you will have tribulation.  But take heart: I have overcome the world.”  Another aha moment – Christ has OVERCOME the whole world – guess where I live – in the world.  He can help me be an OVERCOMER and then I will have peace.  Peace… now that is the reward I want…

 

Isaiah 43:2    NLT “When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you.”   (which means I will be an OVERCOMER!)

“…I will cry to you when my heart is overwhelmed.” Psalm 61:2

Leave a Reply

