prepare to BUILD FOUNDATIONS

I have quickly determined when I TRULY LISTEN to Christ and go in the direction HE leads me it opens multiple blessings.  G.P.S – God’s Pathway for Success (=   I have talked about how it has been on my heart to have a Women’s Bible Study and I hesitated for a variety of reasons.  But when God tells me to do something, I should be packing and getting ready to go on the adventure instead of making excuses.  Well, I so now realize that Christ knew I needed to be deeper in His word… knew I needed to surround myself with other women wanting to learn… knew I needed therapy (=  

I have been so blessed to be raised in a Christian home and have a marriage based around Christ.  Very strong foundations I would say.  But once I had the strong foundation, I have seemed to just leave the foundation blocks (the basement).  There are people who start out building homes and build a great foundation of blocks for their dream home.  But then things happen, money runs out, and they end up living in the foundation / the basement for many years and at times forever.  That is exactly what has happened to me, I believe.  I have a great foundation in the church, in Christ’s word, in my belief. BUT, I stopped building on the foundation.  For years I didn’t go to church, because I worked. I have to honestly admit I have not routinely studied His word.  We talked last night and one of the wonderful women described how she has daily Bible and prayer time – to me that is building on the foundation.  I have been recently blessed by a wonderful letter from another amazing Christian woman and she talked about a Bible Study she recently did on her own – to me that is building on the foundation.  Well, I long to be able to say that… I want to build on my foundation.  I have read more books this year than I have in years… they have all been by Christian authors.  They have been life altering for me.  I think I am definitely a different person than I was at the beginning of the year, but I have a LONG way to go.  The books I believe were like food for my hungry soul – and just like food, once I get a taste of something great, I want more of it!  I go back for seconds and third helpings. 

As a confession, I don’t make building on my foundation a habit – sure I try to go to church every Sunday, but that is just 52 days a year if I go every week – that would be like only placing 52 nails in the building on the foundation.  God wants me every day – He supplies me with unlimited resources.. His word, books by Christian authors, television evangelists, self Bible Studies.  He also supplies me with 24 hours every day that I am alive to take time out for Him.  I am infamous for having some majorly messed up priorities, I am afraid…  For instance I waste time worrying – when He says not too — time spent in worry that I could spend in prayer.  I waste time in planning my own agenda—when He says He knows the plans He has for me – time spent in my own agenda that I could spend knowing His plan.

But meeting as a group and learning forces me to build on my foundation. I leave feeling fed. And as the weeks pass after the lesson, I still think on the things that I have heard from the video series or from the wise women who attend.  I am hearing Bible stories that I have known all my life be revealed in a different light. Last week we talked about Joshua and the wall of Jericho, and I had never heard it that way before.  Joshua was a child of God like me.  He went boldly to God and asked him “Whose side are you on”.  I have felt like that with God and have seen others struggle equally.  When bad things happen or when things don’t do as I planned, I think that He is not on my side.  In our study a new perspective came out – HE is not here to pick sides (it is not me against the world or the situation)!  He is here to take over the battle (no matter what the battle is in my life).  The battle is never too small or too large for Him!  I just have to trust Him, and let Him take over the battle!

Life is all about foundations.  I have foundations in some incredible friendships, but if I do nothing to build upon those foundation they will never grow.  I have a strong foundation in my marriage, but if I do nothing to nurture it and show my love and respect it will not continue to grow.  I have a strong foundation as a Christian, but if I do not daily / continually read and study His word, I will never grow beyond the basement foundation… and really is that enough?? Is that enough for my soul?? And isn’t He worth more than that?  I have a quote from Oprah that often goes through my mind when I know my priorities get out of order – I generally repeat it to myself when I know I have worked too much. “How you spend your time defines who you are.”  -Oprah Winfrey

It honestly is a humbling thought in many ways for my life.  The pause I need to make to re-examine how I spend my time.  At work, on a quarterly basis we have to keep track every 10 minutes of our activity – patients, paperwork, breaks, etc… If I did the same thing with my life for one week, I believe it would show me wasted time and my “priorities”.  I am sure I could also rationalize out how everything I did, because that is just me – full of excuses.  How I spend my time shows where I build on my foundations.  I know I need to prepare to work on some foundations… God has some beautiful plans for me in every area of my life, if I just take the time to “spend my time” learning and growing.

Matthew 7:24-27 “24“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

Leave a Reply

