Prepare for GREATER

What would a Greater life for God look like to me? I had purchased the book Greater several months ago with good intentions to read it. When I came across the Online Bible Study, it was though I heard him say.. Sheri you are made for more than the life you are living. You are made for Greater. For years, I have yearned for something more from life in so many areas, but my constant procrastination and just living out the motions of life have kept me trapped.   I think about the life of Christ on earth and much of his Greatness was in relationships with people.  He sought His Father and spoke with Him consistently. I think of his relationship with the Disciples.  I consider the interactions with “strangers”, such as the woman at the well, the woman who touched the hem of his garment, etc.  I think of his unconditional love shown in words and actions.  For me, my Greater needs to start at home in my relationships with my Heavenly Father, my children, my husband, and myself.

Greater in the relationship with my Heavenly Father: Raised in a Christian home, I have gotten by on the Bible Stories of my childhood, the occasional devotion, and attending church. Although for about seven years, I didn’t even make it to church because of the work schedule I chose to meet the needs of our small children. I go through the motions of a Christian, but I want to live every moment of my life as one. I want to have a Greater relationship with Christ, through learning the plans He has for me, by spending time with Him and His word.  Too often I lean on my own understanding and only go to Him when I am in trouble.  As a Christian, I want to be Greater!

Greater in my relationship with my children: As a mother of a teenage daughter and a son with autism, I am so un-equipped.  To further stretch my already growing weakness as a mom, we took on cyber schooling at home to better meet the needs of each of them. So often I don’t know what to say or do, and  I want to be a Greater mom.   I want to live out Christ’s love for them in my words and actions.   I want to consistently be on my knees in prayer to help me raise them.  I want to know how to build them up and not tear them down.  I want to praise God for them everyday.  As we face challenges, as so often happens, I want my strength to come from Christ. As a mom, I want to be Greater!

Greater in my relationship with my husband: I have been married for twenty years to a wonderful man.  He works full time and also is a volunteer firefighter.  I want to be the wife who shows consistent respect inside/outside the home, through my words and actions.  I want to greater at meeting his needs / helping him meet his needs – physically, emotionally, spiritually.  The wife who honors him with a meals and a place he can find rest after a long day at work or after fighting a fire or saving a life. I want our marriage to be a solid example for our children.  As a wife, I want to be Greater!

Greater in taking care of myself:  As a woman, an individual, who is the wife, the mom, the friend, a full-time nurse/case manager, I want to be a Greater ME.  I am the last one I take time for routinely (and ironically the last person I even listed here).  I want to be the woman who honors her body as a temple, with my spiritual, physical, and mental health needs met (or at least consistently working on them).  I am infamous for procrastination in every area of my life, and I want to leave that at Christ’s feet as my past.  I want to be half the person that my friends believe I am, as I often wear the super-hero cape and the mask of perpetual happiness.  To the world, it appears I have it together, but Christ knows my heart, and my life, and knows this is where I could be so much Greater (and then all the other areas will fall into place).

I prepare to become a GREATER ME with STRONGER Relationships (without the cape and mask).

“Because greater is he that is in you/ME, than he that is in the world.” – I John 4:4

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Prepare for GREATER

  1. Nicki Edwards: Day to Day Trusting God December 1, 2012 at 12:53 am Reply

    G’day Sheri,
    You have some amazing aspirations for living a greater life. The desire to be a greater Disciple, a greater Wife and a greater Mum (Mom!) is certainly a big dream. But to be a ‘greater’ version of YOU – that excites me when I read that!
    God bless you as you remove that mask and super-hero cape and watch as God causes all things in your life to fall into place.
    Love your blog and look forward to reading again.
    Nicki (OBS Leader)

Leave a Reply

