prepare for 2013 WORD (part 2)

I am hoping that if I write, my word will reveal itself… I have narrowed it down to 2 words for 2013. My words that were left after the last weaning are Transform, Passion, Greater, and Intentional
I have eliminated the following two and this is why
1. Passion – I absolutely LOVE this word. I drink from my mug that says it at least twice a day. It is a reminder to Live Today with Passion. I even devoted a whole blog to it earlier this year. As a cancer nurse, I would see a patient hear they had cancer and it was though a light switch was turned on. Many lived differently – with passion. They made their days count and did many things they wanted to. Some carried their passion for life to heaven, while others, survived and continued to live life on earth with zeal. I don’t want to have to hear the diagnosis to live like that. I don’t want life to monotonous, and I believe with a word like passion (defined as intense emotion or enthusiasm), it would challenge that. However, passion is an emotion and I have eliminated all other emotion / feeling words.. I do truly believe that if I choose intentional that I can be intentionally passionate. If I choose greater, by become greater in the areas of my life that passion will be an end result. So, instead of it being my word for the year officially, it will remain on my mug as my daily reminder.

2. Transform – I even had the perfect scripture for this one (Romans 12:2 – Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing, you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.). Note the definition of transform is to change something dramatically – to change somebody or something complete, especially improving their appearance or usefulness. There are many parts of my life I want to transform (change dramatically) – my body, my health, our home… However, there are many things I just want to add to / build upon the great foundation of – my relationships with Christ, my husband, my children (of note in that order). I also believe that if I choose intentional or greater that the transformation will happen. So, instead of transform being my word for the year – it will be a direct result of being intentional or greater.

TWO DAYS left and TWO WORDS to choose. Decisions, decisions, decisions… I truly am wrestling with them still. Both intentional and greater would be a challenge for me, but that is exactly what I want. I want a challenge and want to be challenged (oh – that would have been a great word too – challenge).

Here are the questions from the MY ONE WORD book – What are some things I would like to change about myself: What distracts you from focusing on the change I desire? What kind of person do I want to become this year? What drives my desire to be that kind of person?

So as I prepare for 2013, the sky is the limit. I know exactly the areas of my life I want to focus on, and will choose the perfect word to guide and inspire me.

2 thoughts on “prepare for 2013 WORD (part 2)

  1. Renee December 29, 2012 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Excellent!

  2. Kristin December 29, 2012 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Glad you are down to 2 words…. For some reason, I am feeling “Intentional” for you, I don’t know why.

Leave a Reply

