Clearing the Fog by Counting to 10

My trip home last night was one of the worst ever!  The fog was so thick and almost appeared like blowing snow.  At times I could just see a flicker of yellow line out my driver’s window.  I also prayed big time.  I thought of scriptures about not being afraid and that He never leaves me.  When the weather is foggy or icy or snowy, I also have to turn off the radio, the kids know to keep quite, and my only focus is the road in front of me.  Last night was one of those nights.  I had dropped a friend off and the closer I got to home, the worse it got.  The other hard thing about fog is you loose a concept of distance and time.  For instance, I drove super slow which made the ride longer, and with all the fog, I could not see the landmarks to judge even where I was.

I generally stay away from political issues on Facebook, because well, my beliefs are my beliefs.    We live in America… land of the free…. and the last time I checked, that means that we follow the Constitution.  Unfortunately, like every law, every rule, every political area, people interpret to fit the given problem.  It is also true for the Bible.  There are now how many “interpretations” and sermons are a person “of God” who guides me on a different way to look at the scripture.  However, by all the interpretations of the Bible, of the Constitution, etc… it has all become very foggy.  Sometimes, we just need to focus at the original intent of when they were written.  When Moses wrote the 10 Commandments it was black and white, and now some will interpret Thou Shalt Not Kill includes animals and people.  I am also pretty sure that there was plenty of animal killings for sacrifice and food for families.  I am not even going to touch the Constitution, because well, I separate my blogs and Facebook from politics, with rare exception.  Exceptions will include issues regarding Bullying (which could often be fixed with parents) and Autism.   Also, people’s interpretation and forcing them in my face, actually drives me crazy and I just don’t need it… Anyway, I think I can safely say that these areas are “foggy”.

On a personal level, I look at MY life and that of MY family.  Just looking at the 10 Commandments, and well, I have even made them “foggy” to fit my life.  Ten basic rules to follow that Christ felt important enough to list twice in the Bible  (Exodus 20:1-17 and Deuteronomy 5:1-21) – also, twice because people likely didn’t listen the first time.  I am using NIV because simpler to read.   The Ten Commandments

1: “You shall have no other gods beforeme. –

This is about my relationship with God — does He come first?  Or do I put other people and things first?  Answer is Guilty.  As a wife and a mom, I justify that it is okay to put them first.  However, I know if He is first, everything else will fall into place.)

2:  “You shall not make for yourself an image in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. 5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, 6 but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.  

Do I have idols, things that I put before Him, Facebook, TV, my job, etc… – GUILTY.  Do I take my time with Him in the morning before rushing through the day?  Or is He an after thought or if I can fit Him in relationship? I do not like to talk about God being jealous and punishing us and our children. However, my interpretation is that as a parent, the further my children see me getting from God, they too will become further… if they see me put Facebook, TV, etc… before God, they too will believe it is okay.  I believe the punishment is not having that relationship with the one who knows and loves us most, and that will impact our eternity.  Since, my children learn from example and will likely follow in my footprints, I best step it up!

3.“You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.   

Our home is pretty cautious about this, and I cringe when I hear it in cuss words.  But, do I call people out when they do it saying it offends me?

4. “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. 9 Six days you shall labor and do all your work, 10 but the seventh day is a sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter… 11 For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth… but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

GUILTY, GUILTY, GUILTY…  So, I physically work every weekend.  I have adjusted my schedule to go to church as a family, and believe God blesses that.  And, for now, my weekends will not change.  However, I can still keep it holy by going to church, having food done the night before in the crock pot.  I can rest with the family and enjoy them.  The laundry can wait till Monday, so can the dishes.  As a society, kids are now involved in 7-days a week activities with sports, etc.. because, as a society we accept that.  I remember the days that IF stores were open on Sundays, they at least opened late and closed early.  Banks were closed.  Now everything is open, many 24 hours.    I don’t have to go to the stores that are open to promote my sales on a Sunday.  Yes, I am just one person and I doubt that a store will close without my purchases.  However, it could show our children we value Sundays, plus, I don’t always have the nicest thoughts when shopping… so not only do I not honor it by not resting, I am not loving many people… I love Chik-fil-A – they so believe in this that they close their restaurant on Sundays, and God honors that with making them one of the top restaurants in the nation.  Granted, I work in a hospital, and it will not close on weekends, but I so could look at my Sabbath and make it more holy.

5. “Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the Lord your God is giving you.

I do believe I do okay in this category.  But, as I mentioned in one of my comfort blogs, I definitely could do better spending time with them.  Although, do I hold my children accountable to this?  Do I let them get away with “tones” to their voice or words they say?  Do I make them honor my time?  GUILTY

6. “You shall not murder.  I am good here (even though we believe in gun ownership).

7. “You shall not commit adultery. I am good here.  Jim and I have had many discussions about this.  In this society, I may believe we are “safe”, but it is full of temptations and other people who do not honor other peoples vows.  Marriage is not 50/50 but 100/100 and if either of us ever give less, we could be at risk.

8. “You shall not steal. I don’t believe I intentionally steal with material goods.  However, there are foggy areas.  Is it easy to consider not being completely honest on taxes (especially when I feel like the government constantly steals from me?).  Do I steal time from my employer when I don’t do 100% when I am there?

9. “You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor.  That is DON’T LIE.  So does this include “little white lies”? Telling a lie to prevent from hurting their feelings?  Does this include withholding information, since thy technically did not ask?  How about gossip?  Foggy area… GUILTY!

10. “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his male or female servant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor.” To covet means to crave or desire, especially in excessive or improper ways.  I am good with the wife, servants, ox, donkey – LOL.  We often drive through places and the kids will say, I love that house, etc.. But, we have also taught them, you have to work for those things.  So though I may desire them, I don’t believe in excessive or improper ways.

I have never honestly looked at my life in relationship to the 10 Commandments.  I definitely believe that I have left room between my life and what they really say.  It is 10 simple rules.  I have gotten busy in life, and sloppy in my relationships with Christ and family and friends.  Just as last night, when the road got hard to see, I really focused (turned off all the distractions) and looked for the yellow and white lines to keep me on track.  When my life is getting foggy, and priorities out of line, I need to intentionally focus and look to the Bible to keep me on track.

*** I found this neat site that I read to deepen my understanding as I wrote this blog.  When I sit down to write, sometimes I have no idea what will come out, and this one is a perfect example.  Though the following site may be considered an interpretation (which I mentioned earlier can be dangerous) , but this one made me think deeper.  I believe He will honor that as trying to clear the fog.

LOVE THIS for studying and applying them to my life! 

http://www.the-ten-commandments.org/ten_commandments-purpose_meaning.html

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

