CRYING OUT

This week I listened to a series of podcasts about 8 amazing men of the Bible… and at Ladies Bible Study we started 12 women of the Bible.  I have been so blessed… The one that struck me the other night was about Peter and walking on the water.  Growing up, I had always thought about because Peter took his eyes off of God, he began to sink.  Which, is often true for my life.  When I get my eyes off focus, God does something to get my intention — and many times I feel like I am sinking!

Sinking in my crazy chaotic schedule… Sinking in my self-pity… sinking in my overwhelmed chaos… I am sure many others have felt this way too, and it is good to know I am not alone in these feelings.  All the while I am sinking, it is because I have taken my eyes off what matters.

Pator Furtick points out some things I never noticed in Matthew 14:22-32

Vs. 22 – Jesus MADE the disciples get in the boat and go ahead of him – yes He wanted to go to the mountainside by himself to pray (vs 23)  – but that he sent them ahead KNOWING a storm was coming.  In vs 26 He is walking as if to pass them by until they CRIED OUT in fear and He stopped and assured them vs. 29 Peter got out of the boat and started to walk on the water until he was afraid and started to sink.  IMMEDIATELY Jesus reached out his had and caught him.  Pastor Furtick points out that this story has really nothing to do about Peters faith BUT of GODS AWESOME GRACE.

 Take away points

  • Sometimes God sends me into a storm – maybe to see where my faith is and/or to show me where He is.  I have to believe that no matter the storm, he is there
  • If Jesus needed to go up on the mountainside ALONE to pray to God – how much more do I need this?  He was perfect and I am far from perfect
  • Sometimes God may be walking past me, waiting for ME to cry out.  He hears me when I cry out in fear, in doubt, in pain, in confusion… but oh how I am sure He would love to hear me cry out in faith.  Faith that no matter what happens and I start to sink, he will IMMEDIATELY reach out.

MY CONFESSIONS (we did a lot of this the other night at Ladies Bible Study and it is so amazing to be able to share them without judgment).

  • Many of the storms in my life are self-created.  Created from letting my circumstances get out of control.  However, some storms in my life I would have NEVER chose – our infertility, health issues, our miscarriage, etc.  And though, at times, I honestly did not like His choices and was certain He was NOT in the circumstance… He was waiting for me to cry out.
  • My ALONE time is almost non-existent – and without that time, how can I really HEAR what HE has to say.  (I said this would be a confession).   I think I have become so reliant on myself that I just wait for the storm to call out to Him.  And well, when I think of storms I think of the noise of them.  How can I hear him in the storm if I don’t become still (Psalm 46:10).   I become so busy…  I always think about the quote from Oprah “How you spend your time defines who you are.’  (and that just may need to become a whole separate blog).
  • I hate to ask for help.  CRYING OUT to God, to friends, to family, to anyone, is difficult for me.  Partly because I don’t want to be judged by other people.  Partly because I don’t want to admit to weaknesses.  Partly because I don’t want to inconvenience other people.  And to be honest, I think sometimes I must believe I can do it all – even walk on water (LOL).
  • How about how many times I have or have seen others CRY OUT on Facebook or to their friends about how bad a situation is, but do not CRY OUT to God?
  • How many times has my delay in CRYING OUT (because I don’t like for help) make my storm last longer?  Even the stupid little storms that start as a drizzle of rain and turns into a torrential downpour because I didn’t cry out sooner?

I had this whole blog done last night with the intention to post this morning and then I read something that caught me a little off my comfort zone.  What if God has put me in a position to be His arms, and I am so busy and self-absorbed that I don’t hear the voice of someone CRYING OUT that He meant for ME to hear?

I need to be more intentional.. in my quiet time.. and in my CRYING OUT.  And may I be intentional in calming the busyness of life and my self-absorption that I can hear others CRY OUT.

Psalms 18:6 But in my distress I cried out to the LORD; yes, I prayed to my God for help. He heard me from his sanctuary; my cry to him reached his ears.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

