OVERCOME – the battle begins!

OVERCOME my word for 2014.  Anytime I start something new I like to evaluate what I have done.  Maybe that was something I learned in nursing school.  Choosing a word is not new as this will be my fourth word / year.  My words have been like a rollercoaster ride.  The first year I was new to the process and chose RENEW.  I would say the ride was slow, but I made progress.  The second year I was strong and constant with my word PREPARE, to fight my procrastination tendency.  I think a big part was this was the year I started my blog.  I love to write and have always loved to write.  I enjoy looking back over that year in my writings and see the many lessons I learned.  In 2013, my word was INTENTIONAL.  This was also a word to continue to work on procrastination and to live life on purpose.  I already did my review of how I thought I did in a blog in December.  The one area I could give myself a star for everyday was intentionally being grateful, thankful, and counting little blessings, which has been life changing!

My list for considerations for 2014 included verbs (like breathe, move, serve), words that were nouns & verbs (challenge, control, dare, balance), quantity words (more, seven), words that focused on other people (boundaries, deposits), directional words (like forward, up, closer, deeper), and back to basics (like foundation, basics, simplify).   I considered books I had read in the past year like 7 (Jen Hatmaker) and Happiness Project (have read almost every year).  I had even included a word that I would never be able to do – ME!  A year of focusing on ME would be the hardest thing ever and I felt a little selfish.  Although when I get ME in order, everything else would fall in place.  But I wanted to do more than just ME.

I was sitting on New Years Eve with my words I thought of and was drawing lines and circles around words and narrowed it down.  Overcome was not on my original long list of words and I just couldn’t settle on one.  I knew I wanted a word that would address the procrastination (which has greatly improved), the chaos in my life, feeling guilty / inadequate / overwhelmed, and moving forward instead of feeling behind.   My end result I want to be peace of mind, happiness, progress, contentment, and balance ( a tall order).  I realized that I needed to OVERCOME the obstacles to have my end results.

Many issues I have dealt with for years and I am sure there will be new obstacles as the year goes along that I need to overcome.  I want my life to being about the overcoming of the obstacles and doing something about them, instead of sitting on the sidelines feeling guilty, being worried, and being stuck.   I have had some amazing examples in my life this past year who have overcome some pretty big obstacles.  Did they fall at times? Yes.  Did they get back up and overcome? YES!  When I face the obstacle that stands in my way between me and peace, I want to OVERCOME it and keep running the race. OVERCOME will force me to address issues about ME, including the excuses I make, the whining I do, the self-pity, the guilt, and the worry.  I can either stay in the rut and not face the or I can OVERCOME it.

I closed 2013 listening to Elevation Church Live Praise Party.  Pastor Steven Furtick preached about A Reason to Rejoice.  A lesson about not just counting the blessings but counting the battles we have overcome.  Rejoice the battles did not take me, but made me stronger.   I thought about some of the battles I face daily, weekly, monthly and I let them overtake me, instead of relying on God to help me OVERCOME them.  That will be another huge challenge in the word OVERCOME.  I will not be able to do it all by myself (even if I try).   I will have to rely on God to overcome things and at times ask for help of others to overcome things.

Every year I choose a word, I choose scripture and I have two verses this year

  • I John 4:4  You are of God, little children, and have OVERCOME them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world. (i.e. I am of God and can OVERCOME them, because HE who is in ME is greater than anything in the world!)
  • Philippians 4:13  – I can do all things through Christ who gives ME strength (i.e. I can OVERCOME all things through Christ who gives ME strength!)  – My Grandma Frazee’s favorite verse.

I also have chosen a song, which is one of my absolute favorites and cannot believe I didn’t think of OVERCOME sooner knowing how often I listen to this.  I will make the song my alarm song and top on my playlist as a constant reminder.    Mandisa – OVERCOMER!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8VoUYtx0kw

“Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome” – Booker T. Washington.   I believe 2014 will be a very successful year when defined in those terms!  At the end of 2014, I will be an OVERCOMER. I can’t wait to share my journey!

Leave a Reply

